Reminder: this space is for sharing advice, tips, and encouragement. Comments asking for donations or shares will be removed.

How do I keep momentum without coming off as pushy?

SEPTEMBERBABY22
edited June 15 in Sharing Strategies

Good morning everybody. I am new to gofundme as far as creating an account and would like tips and advice on keeping the momentum going when only a few people share the link. I am trying to help out a close friend that recently lost his mother to pancreatic cancer, and I do not want to come off as pushy. Any advice would be greatly appreciated. Thanks in advance.

Best Answers

• Olivia L
    Olivia L Staff
    Accepted Answer

hey @SEPTEMBERBABY22 great question! Posting updates is a great option not only to keep donors in the loop, but also if you want to keep asking for help in a less direct way. Asking your supporters to share your fundraiser link with their own network may be another solution, instead of just asking them to keep donating to your fundraiser.

Anytime you share whether it's via text, email, phone calls, or social media, be sure to include that sharing your fundraiser link is just as important as receiving donations - the further your cause goes, the more support you'll receive.

Some other fundraisers on GoFundMe might have some more advice for you as well. @Shawn Dromgoole @melodysimpson @RonH what do you think are some of the best ways to keep momentum going?

• melodysimpson
    melodysimpson Contributor
    Accepted Answer

I think sitting down to plan out all of the different ways that you can ask for support is very helpful because then you'll have posts to look forward to sharing. By asking in various ways, you'll be able to touch the emotional points of people in different ways that will encourage them to donate. You'll also be able to see which ask gets the most traction so that you can use that ask again in the future.